Why I Hate Editing Slightly Less Than I Used To

I seems to me that the majority of writers will write something and then when they finish that work, stop all writing and do nothing but edit it.  Now yesterday, I posted about how much I hate to edit.  So a fellow writer taught me a method that works a little better for me, personally.  And by a little better, I mean it makes me feel like jamming an icepick into my eye a little less.  Now, I’m going to share this brilliant method with you.

Instead of spending my time constantly editing my latest completed work, I continue to write on my other projects and only edit my finished story about a chapter or so at a time.  I believe that I may be slightly ADHD (I don’t know really….I seem to have the attention span of a gnat lately though) and the change in “scenery” seems keeps me from going totally bonkers, at least.  Of course, it takes me a significant amount of time to edit things, but to me it’s worth it.

So, I want to hear about how you edit your finished works.  Do you stop everything and work only on editing until you are completely done?  Or do you mix it up a bit by editing a little, writing a little like me?  Or am I still a weirdo freak?

G Elmer Munson don’t answer that last question!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I shall resist!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

DanThat'sCool!

Pop Culture, Reality TV, Random Cool Stuff...And A Hot Mess Or Two

I Feel the Need, the Need to Read

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Our Darkest Fears

The Official Site of Author Brent Abell

gElmerMunson

Dark Fiction . . . Heavy Music

How one woman tackles the blank page.

The Fear Behind the Smiles

How one woman tackles the blank page.

blindoggbooks

Author Tim Baker shares his thoughts, hopes and dreams. (mostly his thoughts)

ARMAND ROSAMILIA

Official Site for Author Armand Rosamilia

