The Name Game

I hate to name drop (not really), but last night I was having a conversation with Armand Rosamilia that went a little like this:

A: (Said something completely ridiculous as he is prone to do.  Not really, but it makes this story better.)

Me:  Oh, for Pete’s sake.

A:  Who the hell is Pete?

Me:  I don’t know who Pete is.

A:  Pete Sake sounds half Welsh and half Japanese.

Me: (Choked laughing so hard that I couldn’t breathe.)

This morning, I decided that Pete Sake was going to make an appearance in my vampire novel as an alias that my heroine makes up on the fly.  All thanks to Armand’s quick wit.

Coming up with names for my character’s is one of the hardest parts of writing for me.  I can sit for an hour trying to come up with the perfect name.  I usually incorporate names of people that I know and love, names of people that I know and don’t like very much and names that I wanted to name one of my children, but they turned out to be the wrong gender. I’ve heard that there is website out there somewhere on the internet that has a whole list of names just for writers to use in their stories, but I haven’t personally seen it, so it  might be a myth.  The Loch Ness monster of writers.

So, how do you come up with your names?  Do you use the names of friends and family? Public figures?  Come up with them all on your own?  Leave a comment and let me know.  I want to hear from you.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on Armand Rosamilia and commented:
    Reblog: Lisa Woods talks about naming her characters, and she has a conversation with an amazing and sexy Man as well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

DanThat'sCool!

Pop Culture, Reality TV, Random Cool Stuff...And A Hot Mess Or Two

I Feel the Need, the Need to Read

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Our Darkest Fears

The Official Site of Author Brent Abell

gElmerMunson

Dark Fiction . . . Heavy Music

How one woman tackles the blank page.

The Fear Behind the Smiles

How one woman tackles the blank page.

blindoggbooks

Author Tim Baker shares his thoughts, hopes and dreams. (mostly his thoughts)

ARMAND ROSAMILIA

Official Site for Author Armand Rosamilia

