Opening a Vein? Not So Much.

I’ve been giving a lot of thought to the writing process lately.  Mainly because I feel like my brain is mush and writing a coherent sentence seem barely within my grasp recently.  Some say that writing is like opening a vein and bleeding onto the page for all the world to see.

I think that is more than a little dramatic.  I also think writing is harder than that.  I would liken it to trying to get blood from a stone.  Or birth a nine pound baby.  Now that stuff is hard. Opening a vein would be relatively easy compared to those things.  Blood exists.  It is right there flowing under the thin surface of your skin, easily accessible.  Writing consists of constructing something from nothing which I believe may be one of the hardest things that I’ve ever attempted.  (Apart from that nine pound baby.  Maybe.)

How people sit at a computer for hours, pounding out thousands of words in a day…well, I am jealous and confounded.  I struggle mightily to get even my paltry 1,000 words per day out and have yet to reach my goal of 7,000 words in a week.  I’m a little discouraged because what if I just really, really suck and haven’t figured it out yet?  Until now.

Don’t answer that.  I don’t want to know.  Maybe.  Definitely.

Queen of Denial? Maybe.

Queen of Denial? Maybe.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

DanThat'sCool!

Pop Culture, Reality TV, Random Cool Stuff...And A Hot Mess Or Two

I Feel the Need, the Need to Read

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Our Darkest Fears

The Official Site of Author Brent Abell

gElmerMunson

Dark Fiction . . . Heavy Music

How one woman tackles the blank page.

The Fear Behind the Smiles

How one woman tackles the blank page.

blindoggbooks

Author Tim Baker shares his thoughts, hopes and dreams. (mostly his thoughts)

ARMAND ROSAMILIA

Official Site for Author Armand Rosamilia

