Muse or Inspiration?

Whatever you call it….it is elusive and fleeting.  Maddeningly so, even.  It can’t be forced, at least I can’t force it, though I know a few writers (and you know who you are) that seem to never, ever run dry of ideas.  Makes me want to punch them in the throat, if we are being completely honest.

And once it does strike, you better hope you are close to a pen, a crayon, a tube of lipstick, anything.  Because I’ve had more than a couple of incidents where by the time I located a writing implement to get it down, the idea was long gone.  Now I don’t know if that’s normal, or if I am particularly absent-minded because I have seven kids.  That’s just how it works for me.

Inspiration, for me, usually comes from something around me.  A scene that  witnessed while grocery shopping gave me the idea for a young adult short story.  A documentary about a series of particularly brutal crimes and how the man charged with the crime had been playing the justice system for years, was the impetus for my vengeful vampire story.  Occasionally, I do just get something from thin air.  It has happened more than once, but isn’t how I commonly come up with ideas.

So where do you get your ideas from?  The people and places around you?  Dreams?  The voices in your head?

I wish I just had a Muse.  Seems like it would be so much simpler.

muse1

Wanted:  One Muse

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Musings Of A Man | breakfromoffice

Leave a Reply

DanThat'sCool!

Pop Culture, Reality TV, Random Cool Stuff...And A Hot Mess Or Two

I Feel the Need, the Need to Read

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Our Darkest Fears

The Official Site of Author Brent Abell

gElmerMunson

Dark Fiction . . . Heavy Music

How one woman tackles the blank page.

The Fear Behind the Smiles

How one woman tackles the blank page.

blindoggbooks

Author Tim Baker shares his thoughts, hopes and dreams. (mostly his thoughts)

ARMAND ROSAMILIA

Official Site for Author Armand Rosamilia

